top of page
Notebook and Pen


as Gerald M. Givens & Jerry Givens
In addition to teaching Yoga & Meditation and Life Coaching, I'm also a novelist. I've always loved fantasy and decided a long time ago that creating in this way had to be a part of my vocation. More recently, I've brought yoga into my writing career with the publishing of my new book Essential Pranayama: Breathing Techniques for Balance, Healing, and Peace.
I grew up in Ann Arbor, Michigan where from an early age my interests in history and storytelling were built through frequenting museums with my mother. At age eight, I wrote my first story, Tim, Tom & Sam, a children's tale about a dog, a cat, and a mouse that became friends and lived together. In high school, my interest in writing grew through the study of poetry. Inspired by the poems of Edgar Allen Poe, I began writing poetry and eventually self-published an anthology of my work. At Western Michigan University, I wrote my first novel, Eyes in Atlantis, and I've been writing ever since.
FRN_2547 (2).jpg
bottom of page